Skip navigation

CARHA Hockey

Hockey Hall of Fame 2013 Inductees

Being inducted to the Hockey Hall of Fame is one of the greatest honours a hockey player/coach/ manager can receive. The Hockey Hall of Fame is filled with some of the most influential hockey personas of all time including Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier, Bobby Orr, Patrick Roy and many more. This year’s induction class honours five inductees who definitely exemplified what it takes to become a Hockey Hall of Famer.

Geraldine Heaney has helped build the sport of Women’s Hockey on both a National and International level. With seven IIHF World Championships and a gold medal from the 2002 Olympics in Salt Lake City, Heaney is a proven champion and remains one of the best female hockey players of all time.

Fred Shero was elected into the builder’s category of this year’s induction and is most known for his success with the Philadelphia Flyers in the 1973-74 and 1974-75 seasons.  In those two seasons, Shero led his team to back to back Stanley Cup championships. Shero is also known for being an innovator for the sport of hockey; he was one of the first coaches to introduce morning skates into the NHL, watch game film, travel overseas to scout other players, and hire a full-time assistant coach.

Brendan Shanahan is a three-time Stanley Cup champion who proved that he belongs in the Hall of Fame. With 656 career goals and 698 career assists, Shanahan definitely had the stats to be considered one of the greatest players to ever play the game. After being drafted by the New Jersey Devils, Shanahan eventually made his way to the Detroit Red Wings where he won three Stanley Cups in 1997, 1998 and 2002. Shanahan is currently the NHL’s Vice President of Hockey and Business Development and Director of Player Safety.

Chris Chelios was also awarded the honour of being inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. Chelios is considered to be one of the best defensemen of all-time, and has three Norris trophies for the NHL’s top defenseman to prove it. Chelios, became an instant legend with every NHL team he played on and was also a threat during international tournaments where he represented the United States. Amazingly, Chelios played a total of 26 NHL seasons and scored a total of 948 points.

Scott Niedermayer will definitely go down as one of the best “winners” of all time. He is the only player to win the Memorial Cup, a World Junior title, World Cup of Hockey title, World Championship Gold medal, Olympic Gold and a Stanley Cup championship.  After a successful career with the New Jersey Devils, which saw Niedeymayer win three Stanley Cup championships, he signed as a free agent with the Anaheim Ducks. In 2007, Niedermayer captured his fourth Stanley Cup playing alongside his brother Rob. Niedermayer is also the top scoring defensemen of all time for both the New Jersey Devils and the Anaheim Ducks.

All of these inductees demonstrate the type of individuals who are honoured as members of the Hockey Hall of Fame. Upcoming candidates for 2014 include Peter Forsberg, Mark Recchi and Dominik Hasek.

CARHA Hockey is now accepting nominations for individuals to be inducted into the CARHA Hockey Hall of Fame. Since its inception in 1975, CARHA Hockey has had the opportunity to collaborate with individuals and hockey related groups that exemplify the organization's specific goals and objectives. As such, these individuals and/or groups have been inducted into the prestigious CARHA Hockey Hall of Fame (formally the COHA Hall of Fame). For more information on how to nominate someone for the CARHA Hockey Hall of Fame, please click here